Cooking tips and my go-to breakfast

Happy Saturday!  I am feeling great going into this weekend because I have been out of town for the past few.  I love to travel, especially when it involves getting to spend time with family and my boyfriend’s family.  But there also isn’t anything quite better than being home, especially for a natural home body like me (;

If you follow me on snapchat or Instagram, you may be able to tell that I love to cook!  I started cooking for myself in high school.  I actually have this weirdly vivid memory of going home to cook lunch one school day during my senior year after taking my last IB test (wasn’t skipping class I swear).  When I went to college freshman year I actually missed cooking and got pretty sick of eating the dining center food everyday.  Living in my Sorority house the next year didn’t help much with that either, but once I was in an apartment I really improved my cooking skills and started trying new recipes, which I have been doing ever since!

Cooking can be totally overwhelming, but my simple tips are to:

A) read through the entire directions before starting to cook.  Sometimes you need to prep things prior like cutting up stuff or mixing ingredients.

B) follow the directions!  Seriously, it sounds silly but it is a fool-proof way to make sure what you make is as delicious as possible.

C) go slow.  Have plenty of snacks handy to eat while you cook (; and also don’t rush yourself or you’ll be more likely to miss an ingredient or step.

As much as I love to try new recipes, I also really enjoy making the same thing over and over again too.  I can get sick of foods easily, so I usually transition through periods of eating the same thing for breakfast, and then switching it up.  Right now, I am happy to be back into eating what I like to call my hot breakfast.  I was listening to a podcast recently that talked about how beneficial eating warm/hot meals (cooked veggies, rice, chicken, etc.) is for our bodies compared to cold foods.  We have all at one time or another heard about how important breakfast is for us and I am one of those people that has always loved a good breakfast, but my boyfriend not so much so I totally understand people that just don’t have the stomach for a breakfast in the mornings.  This recipe is great for breakfast but could also be eaten for lunch or dinner too.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 11.17.37 PM

I usually cut about 2 sweet potatoes up into 1 inch cubes earlier in the week so that when  I go to make breakfast in the morning all  I have to do is take the container out of the fridge.  I also love to make the egg over-easy because the yolk tastes amazing with the avocado and sweet potato, but you could scramble it as well.  I came across a version of this recipe by following the girls at Somewhere, Lately , they both share such great content, and I definitely recommend following them.

Let me know what you think if you make this recipe!

Kindly, Katie

 

Leave a Reply

